COME, I’LL SHOW YOU

TENSIONS AMONG THE YOUNG

When the Republic of South Sudan gained independence, South Sudanese families returned from their exile in other African countries and around the globe. Children and young people who grew up in the most different cultures — some liberal, some conservative — are now confronted with the traditions in their country of origin. Which rules should be followed, and which changed? Conflicts between different ways of life and moral values are inevitable. How are young people managing to foster tolerance amidst such divisions?

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU

TENSIONS AMONG THE YOUNG

When the Republic of South Sudan gained independence, South Sudanese families returned from their exile in other African countries and around the globe. Children and young people who grew up in the most different cultures — some liberal, some conservative — are now confronted with the traditions in their country of origin. Which rules should be followed, and which changed? Conflicts between different ways of life and moral values are inevitable. How are young people managing to foster tolerance amidst such divisions?

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILMEMAKERS

Director Mary Kadi Manoah
Director of Photography Hakim George
Editor York Ezra,  Christian R. Timmann
Sound Jana König
Assistant Production Manager Isaac Ngobi
   
   
   
   

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILMEMAKERS

Director

Mary Kadi Manoah

Director of Photography

Hakim George

Editor

York Ezra,  Christian R. Timmann

Sound

Jana König

Assistant Production Manager

Isaac Ngobi

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILM INFORMATION

Type Fiction
Length 7:14 min.
Language Arabic / English with English or German subtitles
Country of origin South Sudan
Year 2013
   
   
   
   

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILM INFORMATION

Filmart

Spielfilm

Filmlänge

7:14 Min.

Sprache

Arabisch / Englisch mit englischen oder deutschen Untertiteln

Entstehungsland

Südsudan

Entstehungsjahr

2013

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE COUNTRY OF ORIGIN

SOUTH SUDAN

South Sudan (officially the Republic of South Sudan) gained its independence from the Republic of Sudan in the north in 2011 and is the most recently recognised sovereign state in Africa. The country borders Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and the Central African Republic. The capital city is Juba. English is the official language, but Arabic and many other languages are also spoken.
>/br>
A struggle for governmental power led to a civil war between 2013 and 2018, the effects of which can still be felt. About two thirds of the approximately 13 million inhabitants cannot read or write, and more than half of the population lives below the poverty line.
>/br>
Journalists in South Sudan regularly face threats, assault and intimidation efforts. Criticism of the government and its agencies is poorly tolerated. Since fighting began in 2013, the situation has worsened: many journalists were forced to flee from the violence, and many news outlets had to cease operations. On the 2020 World Press Freedom Index published by Reporters without Borders, South Sudan ranked 138th out of 180 countries.

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE COUNTRY OF ORIGIN

SOUTH SUDAN

South Sudan (officially the Republic of South Sudan) gained its independence from the Republic of Sudan in the north in 2011 and is the most recently recognised sovereign state in Africa. The country borders Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and the Central African Republic. The capital city is Juba. English is the official language, but Arabic and many other languages are also spoken.
>/br>
A struggle for governmental power led to a civil war between 2013 and 2018, the effects of which can still be felt. About two thirds of the approximately 13 million inhabitants cannot read or write, and more than half of the population lives below the poverty line.
>/br>
Journalists in South Sudan regularly face threats, assault and intimidation efforts. Criticism of the government and its agencies is poorly tolerated. Since fighting began in 2013, the situation has worsened: many journalists were forced to flee from the violence, and many news outlets had to cease operations. On the 2020 World Press Freedom Index published by Reporters without Borders, South Sudan ranked 138th out of 180 countries.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR

JUNGE LEUTE IM CLINCH

Nach der Gründung der Republik Südsudan kehrten viele südsudanesische Familien aus ihrem Exil in Afrika und der ganzen Welt zurück. Die Kinder und Jugendlichen, die – mal liberal, mal konservativ – in den verschiedensten Kulturen aufgewachsen sind, treffen nun auf die Traditionen ihres Herkunftslandes. Was gehört sich dort, was nicht? Konflikte zwischen Lebensweisen und Moralvorstellungen sind vorprogrammiert. Wie gelingt es den jungen Leuten, sich gegenseitig zu tolerieren?

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR

JUNGE LEUTE IM CLINCH

Nach der Gründung der Republik Südsudan kehrten viele südsudanesische Familien aus ihrem Exil in Afrika und der ganzen Welt zurück. Die Kinder und Jugendlichen, die – mal liberal, mal konservativ – in den verschiedensten Kulturen aufgewachsen sind, treffen nun auf die Traditionen ihres Herkunftslandes. Was gehört sich dort, was nicht? Konflikte zwischen Lebensweisen und Moralvorstellungen sind vorprogrammiert. Wie gelingt es den jungen Leuten, sich gegenseitig zu tolerieren?

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMEMACHER

Regie Mary Kadi Manoah
Kamera Hakim George
Schnitt York Ezra,  Christian R. Timmann
Ton Jana König
Produktionsassitenz Isaac Ngobi

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMEMACHER

Regie

Mary Kadi Manoah

Kamera

Hakim George

Schnitt

York Ezra,  Christian R. Timmann

Ton

Jana König

Produktionsassitenz

Isaac Ngobi

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMINFOS

Filmart Spielfilm
Filmlänge 7:14 Min.
Sprache Arabisch / Englisch mit englischen oder deutschen Untertiteln
Entstehungsland Südsudan
Entstehungsjahr 2013

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMINFOS

Filmart

Spielfilm

Filmlänge

7:14 Min.

Sprache

Arabisch / Englisch mit englischen oder deutschen Untertiteln

Entstehungsland

Südsudan

Entstehungsjahr

2013

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DAS ENTSTEHUNGSLAND

SÜDSUDAN

Der Südsudan (offiziell Republik Südsudan) ist seit 2011 unabhängig vom nördlich liegenden Sudan und ist der jüngste Staat Afrikas. Das Land grenzt zudem an Äthiopien, Kenia, Uganda, die Demokratische Republik Kongo und die Zentralafrikanische Republik. Die Hauptstadt ist Juba. Amtssprache ist Englisch, es werden jedoch auch Arabisch und eine Vielzahl an weiteren Sprachen gesprochen.
>/br>
Ein Kampf um die Machtverhältnisse im Land führte zu einem von 2013 bis 2018 andauernden Bürgerkrieg, dessen Auswirkungen noch immer spürbar sind. Ungefähr zwei Drittel der rund 13 Millionen Einwohner*innen können weder lesen noch schreiben und mehr als die Hälfte der Bevölkerung lebt unterhalb der Armutsgrenze.
>/br>
Im Südsudan kommt es regelmäßig zu Drohungen, Übergriffen und Einschüchterungsversuchen gegen unabhängige Journalist*innen. Die Toleranz für Kritik an Regierung und Behörden ist eher gering. Seit Beginn der Kämpfe 2013 hat sich die Lage verschlechtert: Viele Journalist*innen mussten vor der Gewalt fliehen, viele Redaktionen den Betrieb einstellen. Bei der Rangliste der Pressefreiheit 2020, die von Reporter ohne Grenzen herausgegeben wird, liegt der Südsudan auf Platz 138 von 180 Ländern.

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DAS ENTSTEHUNGSLAND

SÜDSUDAN

Der Südsudan (offiziell Republik Südsudan) ist seit 2011 unabhängig vom nördlich liegenden Sudan und ist der jüngste Staat Afrikas. Das Land grenzt zudem an Äthiopien, Kenia, Uganda, die Demokratische Republik Kongo und die Zentralafrikanische Republik. Die Hauptstadt ist Juba. Amtssprache ist Englisch, es werden jedoch auch Arabisch und eine Vielzahl an weiteren Sprachen gesprochen.
>/br>
Ein Kampf um die Machtverhältnisse im Land führte zu einem von 2013 bis 2018 andauernden Bürgerkrieg, dessen Auswirkungen noch immer spürbar sind. Ungefähr zwei Drittel der rund 13 Millionen Einwohner*innen können weder lesen noch schreiben und mehr als die Hälfte der Bevölkerung lebt unterhalb der Armutsgrenze.
>/br>
Im Südsudan kommt es regelmäßig zu Drohungen, Übergriffen und Einschüchterungsversuchen gegen unabhängige Journalist*innen. Die Toleranz für Kritik an Regierung und Behörden ist eher gering. Seit Beginn der Kämpfe 2013 hat sich die Lage verschlechtert: Viele Journalist*innen mussten vor der Gewalt fliehen, viele Redaktionen den Betrieb einstellen. Bei der Rangliste der Pressefreiheit 2020, die von Reporter ohne Grenzen herausgegeben wird, liegt der Südsudan auf Platz 138 von 180 Ländern.