COME, I’LL SHOW YOU

WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE A SEX WORKER

To be able to feed her family in Nigeria, Bridget travelled to Ghana, where she began working as a prostitute. In ACCRA FLOWERS, she speaks openly about her world — about sex, love, and violence, as well as the prejudices and contempt she faces on a daily basis. But this 20-year-old doesn’t let it get her down. Every month, she puts some money away so that one day she can fulfil her dream of becoming a paediatric nurse.

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU

WHAT IT’S LIKE TO BE A SEX WORKER

To be able to feed her family in Nigeria, Bridget travelled to Ghana, where she began working as a prostitute. In ACCRA FLOWERS, she speaks openly about her world — about sex, love, and violence, as well as the prejudices and contempt she faces on a daily basis. But this 20-year-old doesn’t let it get her down. Every month, she puts some money away so that one day she can fulfil her dream of becoming a paediatric nurse.

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILMMAKERS

Direction  Luther N. Mafalleh
Camera + Edit Jeremiah Nyekoeza
Sound Papa Edwin Shaw
Light Simeonette Uwanie Pontis
Production Management Ewurafua Bailey

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILMMAKERS

Direction  Luther N. Mafalleh
Camera + Edit Jeremiah Nyekoeza
Sound Papa Edwin Shaw
Light Simeonette Uwanie Pontis
Production Management Ewurafua Bailey

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILMINFO

Type Documentary
Length 22:22 min.
Language English / Twi / Pidgin with english subtitles
Country of origin Ghana
Year 2018

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE

FILMINFO

Type 

Documentary

Length

22:22 min.

Language

English / Twi / Pidgin
with english subtitles

Country of origin

Ghana

Year

2018

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE COUNTRY OF ORIGIN

GHANA

Ghana (officially the Republic of Ghana), with its approximately 29 million inhabitants, gained independence from Great Britain in 1957. Ghana borders Ivory Coast in the west, Togo in the east, and shares an inland border with Burkina Faso in the north. The capital city of Accra lies in the south along the Atlantic coast and is home to more than two million people. The official language is English, but another 70 languages are spoken throughout the country.
>/br>
Much has been done for education in Ghana, where basic schooling is compulsory. In 2019, the literacy rate was 79%, but poverty continues to impact education and health, especially in rural regions.
>/br>
Ghana has a diverse media landscape, and criticism of the government is possible. Ghana ranked 30th out of 180 countries on the 2020 World Press Freedom Index, published by Reporters without Borders.

COME, I’LL SHOW YOU THE COUNTRY OF ORIGIN

GHANA

Ghana (officially the Republic of Ghana), with its approximately 29 million inhabitants, gained independence from Great Britain in 1957. Ghana borders Ivory Coast in the west, Togo in the east, and shares an inland border with Burkina Faso in the north. The capital city of Accra lies in the south along the Atlantic coast and is home to more than two million people. The official language is English, but another 70 languages are spoken throughout the country.
>/br>
Much has been done for education in Ghana, where basic schooling is compulsory. In 2019, the literacy rate was 79%, but poverty continues to impact education and health, especially in rural regions.
>/br>
Ghana has a diverse media landscape, and criticism of the government is possible. Ghana ranked 30th out of 180 countries on the 2020 World Press Freedom Index, published by Reporters without Borders.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR

WIE ES IST, SICH PROSTITUIEREN ZU MÜSSEN

Um ihre Familie in Nigeria ernähren zu können, ging Bridget nach Ghana. Dort fing sie an, als Prostituierte zu arbeiten. In ACCRA FLOWERS erzählt sie offen über ihre Welt – über Sex, Liebe und Gewalt und darüber, wie sie im Alltag von vielen vorverurteilt und missachtet wird. Doch die 20-Jährige lässt sich nicht unterkriegen. Jeden Monat legt sie Geld beiseite, um sich eines Tages ihren Traum erfüllen zu können, Kinderkrankenschwester zu werden.

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR

WIE ES IST, SICH PROSTITUIEREN ZU MÜSSEN

Um ihre Familie in Nigeria ernähren zu können, ging Bridget nach Ghana. Dort fing sie an, als Prostituierte zu arbeiten. In ACCRA FLOWERS erzählt sie offen über ihre Welt – über Sex, Liebe und Gewalt und darüber, wie sie im Alltag von vielen vorverurteilt und missachtet wird. Doch die 20-Jährige lässt sich nicht unterkriegen. Jeden Monat legt sie Geld beiseite, um sich eines Tages ihren Traum erfüllen zu können, Kinderkrankenschwester zu werden.

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMEMACHER

Regie  Luther N. Mafalleh
Kamera + Schnitt Jeremiah Nyekoeza
Ton Papa Edwin Shaw
Licht Simeonette Uwanie Pontis
Produktionsleitung Ewurafua Bailey

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMEMACHER

Regie 

Luther N. Mafalleh

Kamera + Schnitt

Jeremiah Nyekoeza

Ton

Papa Edwin Shaw

Licht

Simeonette Uwanie Pontis

Produktionsleitung

Ewurafua Bailey

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMINFOS

Filmart Dokumentarfilm
Filmlänge 22:22 Min.
Sprache Englisch / Twi / Pidgin mit englischen Untertiteln
Entstehungsland Ghana
Entstehungsjahr 2018

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DIE

FILMINFOS

Filmart

Dokumentarfilm

Filmlänge

22:22 Min.

Sprache

Englisch / Twi / Pidgin

mit englischen Untertiteln

Entstehungsland

Ghana

Entstehungsjahr

2018

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DAS ENTSTEHUNGSLAND

GHANA

Ghana (offiziell Republik Ghana) hat etwa 29 Millionen Einwohner*innen und erlangte 1957 die Unabhängigkeit von Großbritannien. Das Land grenzt im Westen an die Elfenbeinküste, im Landesinneren an Burkina Faso und im Osten an Togo. An der Atlantikküste im Süden des Landes liegt die Hauptstadt Accra, die über zwei Millionen Einwohner*innen zählt. Die Amtssprache ist Englisch, es werden jedoch noch 70 weitere Sprachen gesprochen. 
>/br>
In Ghana wird viel für Bildung getan und es herrscht allgemeine Schulpflicht. Die Alphabetisierungsrate lag 2019 bei über 79%, dennoch wirkt sich die Armut vor allem in den ländlichen Regionen auf die Bereiche Bildung und Gesundheit aus.
>/br>
Ghana hat eine vielfältige Medienlandschaft, Kritik an der Regierung ist möglich. Bei der Rangliste der Pressefreiheit 2020, die von Reporter ohne Grenzen herausgegeben wird, belegt Ghana Platz 30 von 180 Ländern.

KOMM, ICH ZEIG DIR DAS ENTSTEHUNGSLAND

GHANA

Ghana (offiziell Republik Ghana) hat etwa 29 Millionen Einwohner*innen und erlangte 1957 die Unabhängigkeit von Großbritannien. Das Land grenzt im Westen an die Elfenbeinküste, im Landesinneren an Burkina Faso und im Osten an Togo. An der Atlantikküste im Süden des Landes liegt die Hauptstadt Accra, die über zwei Millionen Einwohner*innen zählt. Die Amtssprache ist Englisch, es werden jedoch noch 70 weitere Sprachen gesprochen. 
>/br>
In Ghana wird viel für Bildung getan und es herrscht allgemeine Schulpflicht. Die Alphabetisierungsrate lag 2019 bei über 79%, dennoch wirkt sich die Armut vor allem in den ländlichen Regionen auf die Bereiche Bildung und Gesundheit aus.
>/br>
Ghana hat eine vielfältige Medienlandschaft, Kritik an der Regierung ist möglich. Bei der Rangliste der Pressefreiheit 2020, die von Reporter ohne Grenzen herausgegeben wird, belegt Ghana Platz 30 von 180 Ländern.